Apple (or Peach) Coffee Cake Muffins

How do you find the words to describe a muffin that completely knocks your socks off?

Sometimes you do a google search and you just get lucky.  I must be living right or something because when my husband requested a muffin like this,  I went searching on the web and this recipe was the first one that came up, and now I am sitting here wondering how I ever lived with out these all my years. I am not kidding.

Usually when I think of coffee cake I have a vision of the stuff I ate as a kid which was usually made out of Bisquick and whose only redeeming quality was the brown sugar, crunchy topping. This muffin still has the awesome brown sugar buttery topping, but everything else  about this muffin screams out “Eat me”.  They are incredibly moist, and just sweet enough, and while I was making them I decided to split the batter in half and add apples to one half and peaches to the other (I had a bag of frozen peaches in the fridge just waiting for someone to turn them into an awesome muffin), and the outcome was amazing. The peach ones reminded me of a certain peach cobbler bread that I have to save all my pennies to buy at a certain high end bakery here in Utah whose name may or may not rhyme with frieght jarvest, but who will be loosing a little of my  business because now I can make these at home whenever I want!

And its a tie. My husband and I can’t pick a favorite over the apple ones or the peach ones, so make them both! Best muffin ever!

printable version with picture

printable version

Apple (or Peach)  Coffee Cake Muffins

*note: I used white wheat flour instead of white flour in these muffins, so instead of filling my 1 cup measuring cup right up to the top with flour, I used just a little more than 3/4 a cup of flour in order to compensate for the density of the wheat flour.

*Makes 24 muffin:

Muffin Ingredients:

1/2 cup butter, softened

1 1/2 cup brown sugar

2 eggs

2 C flour (or a little more than 1 1/2 cups of white wheat flour)

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 tsp cinnamon

1 cup plain yogurt ( i used the not fat greek kind, but I don’t think that would make a difference)

2 cups apples (or 1 cup apples and 1 cup peaches–or fruit of your choice–if you are dividing the batter like we did).

Crumb topping ingredients:

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup flour

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

4 tablespoons butter, melted

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a large bowl or stand mixer, cream butter and sugar. Scrape down sides of your bowl and add in eggs. Beat well. Add in the baking soda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, and half of your flour. Mix for 30 seconds or so. It doesn’t have to be fully combined just yet. Add in half of your yogurt. Mix in. Add in remaining flour and yogurt, mix well. Remember to scrape down your bowl several times.

Peel and cut apples into cubes–but not too small ( actually left the skin on mine). Stir 2 cups of aples into your batter. Spray muffin tins with cooking spray. Divide batter evenly between cups (they should be about 1/2 full).

In a medium bowl, mix topping ingredients wiht a fork until crumbly. Peas size is good. Spoon topping evenly onto the muffins. Start off with one small spoonful per muffin, then go back and use any remaining topping to fill spots you may have missed. You will use all of the topping.

Baking time will vary depending on the size of your muffins and your oven. Regular size muffin should take about 20-25 minutes, but start checking at 15 minutes to be safe. Use a toothpick or cake tester, insert it into the muffin. When it comes out clean or with just a few moist crumbs, they are done.  Remove from the oven and let cool for 5-10 minutes on the counter.  Store in an airtight container.

Recipe Source: Adapted from bakedbyrachel.com

This entry was published on April 29, 2012 at 4:03 am. It’s filed under Breads, Breakfast and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Apple (or Peach) Coffee Cake Muffins

  1. These look yummy! My family loves muffins to grab on-the-go! Thanks for sharing this recipe!

Leave a Reply

