Thyme and Garlic Fresh green beans

Thyme and Garlic Fresh Green Beans

Thyme and Garlic Fresh green beans

I don’t know why it’s taken me so long to discover the flavor of Thyme, but its about “Thyme” I did. Ha ha. Okay, but seriously, these green beans are awesome. For some reason green beans have always been special in my family. My mom grows them in her garden and will cover the plants with quilts at the end of the season to protect the plants from early frost (as her kids, we always joke that my mom loves her beans more than us because we don’t get that kind of special treatment) . My sister used to just open up a can a green beans and eat them like chips, and it seemed like they were are staple vegetable growing up, although it seemed like we used to eat them a lot from the can,  which I like all and well, but once I tried this recipe with fresh green beans, I feel like there is really no going back

These green beans simmered  in thyme and garlic are the perfect side dish to any meal. For some reason I feel like we have eaten them a lot when we’ve had Asian food, although I don’t think there is really anything Asian about them. So lets not waste anymore “thyme” and lets get cooking!

Thyme and Garlic Fresh Green Beans

printable version with picture

printable version

*Note: I have used chicken bouillon in place of veggie bouillon every time I have made these and it has tasted fabulous, but my friend who gave me the recipe swears that it is even better with veggie bouillon.

2 Tablespoons olive oil

1 teaspoon minced garlic

4 cups green beans (fresh)

1/2 teaspoon thyme

1/2 teaspoon salt

pepper to taste

2 cups veggie bouillon ( I have always used chicken bouillon, but my friend Sydney who I got this recipe from says that veggie bouillon is the only way to go. )

squeeze of lemon

Heat oil in a pan, add garlic and beans, use high heat to sear the beans. Stir continuously until glossy green color appears. Then add remaining ingredients. Bring to  a boil then cover tightly and let simmer for 20 minutes

recipe source: Sydney Whipple

This entry was published on May 4, 2012 at 5:17 am. It’s filed under Sides/Salads, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

