Oh So Easy BBQ Chicken Pizza

The first thing that came out of my almost 3 year old daughters mouth when she ate this was, “Yummy mommy”. Blink blink. I think she has said that to me like only a few times in her short life and I was shocked that this meal was one of them.

Honestly I had made another pizza along with this one that I thought she might like better, but she scarfed this BBQ chicken pizza until I thought her little body couldn’t handle it any more! When I really think about it, I shouldn’t be surprised that she loves this, because whats not to love about the combo of BBQ sauce, red onion, and chicken topped with bubbly, melted cheese?

I first got this recipe when I was single at a little after church “munch and mingle”. I tasted it and immediately hunted down the girl who made it to demand the recipe, and when she told me, I was shocked at how basic and easy it was. I like to make my own dough (which is also really easy ), but if you already have a crust and you have leftover chicken from another meal already cooked, this meal has the potential to come together without you even breaking a sweat, and with little clean up! Its a great alternative to normal pizza if your like my family and enjoy pizza on a weekly basis!

Oh So Easy BBQ Chicken Pizza

printable version with picture

printable version

*Note: when I make this BBQ chicken pizza I like to do it in a 9X13 Casserole dish for a more deep dish feel, but I’m sure it would work on a pizza stone, or on any size pre-made crust.


Pizza Dough Recipe (makes enough dough for two pizza pies)

Ingredients:

3-4 cups unbleached white flour

1 tablespoon yeast

1 1/4 cup warm water (if its too cold or too hot the yeast will not work)

1 teaspoon salt

1 Tablespoon Honey

Soften yeast, honey, and salt in warm water for 10 minutes, or until yeast starts bubbling (for best results don’t skip this step!). knead for six minutes. Let rise in a warm place with a moistened towel over the top until it has doubled in volume. Punch down dough and cut in half. Place on pizza stone, pan, or dish. Use fingers to spread it out for desired length and thickness. Top with favorite toppings!

BBQ Chicken Pizza

Ingredients:

1 Crust

BBQ sauce (I like honey BBQ, but use whatever your favorite is)

1/2 red onion

1 1b chicken, cooked and cut into small pieces

8oz Mozzarella cheese (more or less according to how much cheese you like)

Directions:

Heat oven to 400 degrees.  Spread sauce on top of crust. Layer with chicken and red onion spread out evenly. Sprinkle with Mozzarella cheese. Cook in oven at 400 degrees for 5 minutes, and then turn oven to 475 degrees and cook until bubbly (probably around 5 more minutes or more, but every oven is different so keep a good watch out).

recipe source: Dough- Emily Mars, Pizza- girl from my singles ward.

This entry was published on May 7, 2012 at 4:48 pm. It’s filed under Breads, Main Dish, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

