awesome. healthy, breakfast ideas

Whole Wheat Blender Pancakes (Mothers Day Brunch idea #1)

awesome. healthy, breakfast ideas

They always say that a way to a man’s heart is through his stomach, but I would have to have to say the same about women. Okay.  I can’t speak for all women, but I really feel like nothing says “I love you” better than tasty food, and what better time than mothers day to make tasty food for the woman or mother you love (or for ourselves women and mothers:) )?

These pancakes rock. Seriously. I know what your saying, “I don’t have a wheat grinder so I have to just skip over “whole wheat recipes”…well not any more! The whole wheat in this recipe is ground in a blender with milk. On top of that,  these pancakes take a total of 5 minutes to throw together!  And if the woman/mother in your life is anything like my mom growing up, she will appreciate the healthy aspect of these. Sweetened with honey, these babies have a great nutty flavor that taste divine with any kind of syrup, berries, or granola and yogurt . My kids even love these, and they don’t even know their healthy! Yes! Happy mothers day to me!:)

Okay, funny story about these pancakes. Usually my kids eat cereal for breakfast, but I had a little extra time in the morning so I decided to make these for breakfast instead. Anyways, when my almost 3 year old daughter woke up I said, “Lucy, I made you pancakes for breakfast!’ and she got super excited. She giggled and said, “Pancakes for my birthday.” and I said, “well, it’s not your birthday, but I did make you pancakes.” I told her to go to the bathroom and then meet me in the kitchen.

So when she sat down at the table I served her up some pancakes and she smiled and said, “Pancakes for my birthday!” so I said, “Lucy, its not your birthday but we did make pancakes.” and she nicely said “No mom! Pancakes for my birthday!” and I was like, “Lucy, its not your birthday.” And she said with a quivering voice “No mom. They are for my birthday.” I felt like this was something I needed to be honest about so when her real birthday roles around in July she will know she has ONE birthday every year and its a great, special, day.  So I told her again, nicely, and told her it was a special day because we were having pancakes, but that it wasn’t her birthday! The next thing I know she is sobbing. Like in hysterics. She ran into her room and cried for like 5 minutes. Blink blink. What is a mother to do? Needless to say, she came out happy and ended up loving the pancakes! I know you will too!

Whole Wheat Blender Pancakes

printable version with picture

printable version

*Serves 4

*Note: The blending time for the wheat and the milk will vary depending on your blender. My blender is pretty nice so it blends in about a minute. My sister blends hers for 4 minutes though.

Ingredients:

3/4 cup whole wheat

1 cup milk

2 eggs

1/4 teaspoon salt

4 tablespoons oil (I like to use olive)

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 tablespoon honey (or 2 tablespoons of sugar)

Directions:

Add the wheat and the milk to the blender. Blend on high until wheat is ground. Add remaining ingredients and blend on high for another minute or until the ingredients are thoroughly combined. Pour onto griddle. Optional:  add blueberries, blackberries, or chocolate chips for the kiddos!

Recipe Source: Anika Busby

This entry was published on May 10, 2012 at 8:37 pm. It’s filed under Breakfast, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Whole Wheat Blender Pancakes (Mothers Day Brunch idea #1)

  1. Tiff on said:

    Rach, you are “getting fancy with the spices!” I love it. They all look so good! Great job and keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

