The Best Granola

Down To Earth Granola (Mothers day brunch idea #3)

The Best Granola

So I know this is called “Down to Earth Granola” but the taste of this stuff is really out of this world so maybe it should be called “Out of this world” granola! Ha ha. Okay, but seriously. This granola is the perfect blend of oats, honey, nuts, cinnamon, and it even has a tiny bit of a sweet and salty flavor. I love it.

I also love that it only cooks for 25ish minutes, and its still crunchy. I like my granola crunchy. Growing up my mom made two types of granola’s, a softer one, and then a crunchy one, which I liked, but it took like 2 hours to cook to make it crunchy. If your efficient, this stuff could even be started and eaten on a regular weekday morning, its that kind of fast.

And, for some reason, even though granola still has sugar in it, I feel like I am super healthy when I eat it. I also like to mix it with a cold cereal like Wheat Chex, or something like that, to give the normal cereal a sweeter nutty flavor. This granola is awesome in yogurt, put in a crepe with yogurt, as a snack with milk, and just eating it by the handfuls dry. It is definitely a staple at our house!

Down To Earth Granola (Mothers Day Brunch Idea #3)

printable version with picture

printable version

Ingredients:

4 c. old fashioned oats
½ c. light brown sugar, packed
½ t. ground cinnamon
¼ c. honey
1 ½ c. raisins or craisins
1 ½ c. sliced almonds
½ t. salt
¼ c. cooking oil ( I like to use olive oil)
1 t. vanilla

Preheat oven to 300°. In a bowl, mix the oats, almonds, brown sugar, salt and cinnamon. In a saucepan,warm the oil and honey. Stir in the vanilla. Carefully pour liquid over oat mixture. Stir gently with a wooden spoon. Spread granola in a 15x10x1” baking pan. (I line my pan with parchment paper.) Bake24 minutes, stirring carefully every 8 minutes. Transfer granola filled pan to a rack. Cool completely. (I wait to use the craisins or raisins so people can just add those at breakfast.) Seal in airtight container.

Recipe Source: Montgomery Ward Ohio recipe book “loaves and fishes

This entry was published on May 13, 2012 at 4:49 am. It’s filed under Breakfast and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Down To Earth Granola (Mothers day brunch idea #3)

  1. I love granola! This version looks delicious, Rachel!

Leave a Reply

