Curried Sweet Potato Chips

Confession. I dropped my camera. The lens broke. And the camera fix it man won’t be able to fix  for 3 WEEKS! Ahhhh. I feel like I’ve lost a dear friend! What is a food blogger to do?

I really only have two options. 1.)  Use my tiny flip video camera that has no sort of special features on it whatsoever to take creatively artsy pictures that may or may not look appetizing, or 2.) Borrow other people’s artsy pictures. I’ve decided….for the next 3 weeks I will be doing both!  So please bear with me! And pray for my sweet camera! Luckily, I do have some food pictures that I took before… “The Accident” happened.

And now onto better topics like the  amazingness of NPR. I love NPR.  I would almost go as far as to say that I am an NPR addict. I feel like my day is not complete unless I get my NPR fix.  Its the first thing I hear in the morning when my alarm goes off, and its the last website I check at night before hopping into bed if I have my way.  And now, they have joined me in the kitchen because NPR is also the source (both picture and recipe) of these divine Curried Sweet Potato Chips.

Delicious. Wonderful. Flavorful. Healthy. Beautiful.  All are great words, but do little justice to this glorious side dish. I inhaled these. My daughter snuck some raw before I even baked them. At the end of the meal After I practically downed the whole batch, there were 6 chips left. No word was spoken, but both my husband and I had our eye on those beauties. I couldn’t even think straight, all I knew was that I wanted to end the meal with that flavor on my tongue. Luckily before I did anything drastic my  husband divided them in half for both of us.

If I could sum these curried sweet potato chips up in 3 words it would be, “These are awesome!”.  Any questions?

Curried Sweet Potato Chips

printable version with picture

printable version

*Note: I think the term sweet potato is used interchangeably today with yams, I think I used one sweet potato and one yam when I made these and it turned out great. You can use any sweet potatoish potato.

NPR said, ” The hot curry lends generous heat that is tempered with the cinnamon sweetness of garam masala. These sweet potato chips are addictive by themselves but go nicely with cooling hummus. (we didn’t eat them with hummus, but I’m sure it would be amazing!)

*Serves 4 to 6 servings

2 medium sweet potatoes, sliced paper-thin

2 1/2 tablespoons olive oil

1/2 teaspoon hot curry powder

1/2 teaspoon garam masala

1/4 teaspoon salt

preheat oven to 400 degrees. For easy cleanup, line a large rimmed baking sheet with parchment paper.

Place sweet potato slices in a large bowl and, using your hands, toss with oil and spices until coated. Arrange in a single layer on the prepared baking sheet bake for 15 to 20 minutes or until golden and crisp. Remove from the oven and eat.

recipe source: NPR

This entry was published on June 6, 2012 at 3:10 pm. It’s filed under Sides/Salads and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Curried Sweet Potato Chips

  1. Pingback: Sweet Balsamic Glazed Pork Loin {Crock Pot} « Food-fection

Leave a Reply

