Cherry Limeade…On the Rocks Please!

Don’t get me wrong! I love me a good HOT summer.

I love going swimming. I feel like the kids don’t get sick as much as they do in the winter. I love being able to go outside without a jacket. I love listening to country music in the summer,  and I love a little sun kissed skin. But I’m not going to lie, this is the first summer we’ve spent in our new place and for some reason the bricks just retain the 100 degree weather, making our house feel like its 115 degrees, so by the time the day is over we are all dying sweating our brains out, no one really has an appetite (which is a sin in my book), and all of the fans in our house just seem to be blowing hot air around (picture a hot blow dryer blowing in your face after your already sweating! YUCK).

So imagine my relief when out of the blue my husband hands me this glorious, ice cold, cherry limeade, that he threw together out of no where! He is totally hired! He is perfect.  The drink was perfect.

Not too sweet, the lime and cherry really compliment each other, and make for one refreshing summer drink! This will definitely be a summer staple in our house!

Cherry Limeade

printable recipe with picture

printable recipe

*Note:  We didn’t use any set recipe to make this so adjust ingredients to your taste! You can either make this all together into a pitcher or put it together in separate glasses (which is what my husband did).

*4 Servings-ish

Ingredients

2 liter bottle lemon-lime soda

2 limes

10-ounce jar maraschino cherries, with juice

Ice

Directions:

Put ice into 4 class cups.  Fill cups 3/4 full with lemon-lime soda. Cut 1 limes in half. Squeeze 1/4 of lime juice into each cup.  Pour juice from maraschino cherries evenly into 4 cups (You will use all of the cherry juice). Put 2-3 cherries in each glass, and a lime wedge from the last lime as a garnish.  Enjoy!

Picture source:  taken from here at a storyaboutfaith.com. She has a healthy recipe for this same drink on her blog! Check it out!

This entry was published on June 27, 2012 at 4:01 pm. It’s filed under Drink, miscellaneous, Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

