Chocolate Chip Heaven Cookies

I’m not going to lie…I like CHOCOLATE CHIPS in my chocolate chip cookies.They are the best part.  I always feel jiped when I get a chocolate chip cookie that only has like four chocolate chips in it, and I make a point to add extra chocolate chips to all of my chocolate chip cookies!

Needless to say, I was ecstatic when a few weeks ago we were at Brad’s Aunt Julies house for a little family BBQ, and all of a sudden she pulls out a plate of cookies. These cookies. And they were loaded chock full with chocolate chips. Mini chocolate chips. And they were perfect.

I knew we couldn’t leave that party without the recipe in hand. I immediately cornered Aunt Julie, and I shouldn’t have been surprised when she told me the cookies are called Chocolate Chip Heaven, because heaven is what they are!

And now, mini chocolate chips have totally flipped my chocolate chip world upside down….or maybe I should say,  right side up….because I have only recently discovered that I love them. Why not take chocolate chips and give them an opportunity to be even more spread out in a cookie, muffin or pancake, without feeling guilty for adding an extra cup (or two or three) like I usually do? Genius.

CHOCOLATE CHIP HEAVEN

printable recipe

printable recipe with picture

*Note: This cookie recipe makes A LOT of cookies. I halved it, and it still made a lot. I am posting the full recipe just in case you want to make A Lot. But if your just looking to make a regular amount of  cookies, then half the recipe for sure.

Ingredients:

2 cups brown sugar

2 cups white sugar

2 cups real butter

4 well beaten eggs.

1 teaspoon salt

2 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

2 teaspoon vanilla extract of 1 teaspoon real vanilla (real is better)

4 cups flour (I used white wheat flour just use a little less!)

4 cups oatmeal (put in blender prior, make flour consistency)

2 packages of Hershey’s mini chocolate chips or 1 package of regular

½ cups coconut

Directions:

Cream sugar, butter together. Add the eggs. Stir in salt, baking powder, soda and vanilla.  Slowly stir in flour, chips, oatmeal and coconut.  Bake 7-8  minutes (depending on size) at 400 degrees.  Remove cookies when they are slightly golden brown.  Allow to cool on cookie sheet before removing.  This makes a lot of cookies.  You can freeze the dough or baked cookies for later.

recipe source: Aunt Julie

This entry was published on July 13, 2012 at 3:58 pm. It’s filed under Dessert and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Chocolate Chip Heaven Cookies

  1. Stacie on said:

    Seth might have been a little obsessed with this cookies; thanks for posting them!

Leave a Reply

