Good Old Fashioned Orange Julius

My husband is a woodcarver, an aspiring chemical engineer, a biker, a fisherman, a graphic designer,  game winner (unless he’s playing me:)), a computer animator, a student, a teacher, an artist, a fix-it man…and i’m not going to lie, he is awesome in the kitchen.

But I would have to say one of his specialty’s in the kitchen is drinks, and shakes.

It usually happens at like 10:30 at night (Are my husband and I the only late night snackers out there?) and he he starts realizing that his body is craving some sort of sustenance, but he’s not hungry really, he’s just thirsty. And then he starts listing off drinks/shakes he can make. And then he says, “If I make something will you drink it?” To which I usually say “I’ll have a sip of yours, ” but when he brings it over one sip turns into the whole cup somehow, but I feel better because I feel like it was his cup so the late night calories are really his. 🙂 Anyways, lately the “Orange Julius” has been a frequent visitor in our blender, and I don’t think its going any where soon! Its cool. Its refreshing. Its chalk full of ice and vitamin C.  My husband also sometimes gets creative and throws a cup full of blueberries in with it, or last week he threw a peach just for kicks and it tasted amazing.

Have fun with this one! Let me know if you come up with any great additions or combinations of your own!

Good Old Fashioned Orange Julius

printable recipe

printable recipe with picture

*Note: feel free to adjust this according to your family’s likes. Some people like more sugar, but 1 tablespoon is enough for my family. Brad has thrown in a peach or banana before and its a fun twist! 

*serves 4-6

Ingredients:

12 ice cubes

6oz frozen concentrate orange juice

1 cup milk

1 cup water

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 tablespoon white sugar

Optional: blueberries, peaches, bananas, etc….

Directions:

Blend everything together in a blender until smooth. Enjoy!

picture source: We left our camera at grandpa meldrums this week, so this picture is from coulorful palate.com

This entry was published on August 15, 2012 at 11:38 pm. It’s filed under Drink, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Good Old Fashioned Orange Julius

  1. Stacie on said:

    We love to throw strawberries in our orange juilus! Mmmmm now I need to go to the store to get some orange juice.

  2. ooooh! Strawberries sound divine! 🙂

Leave a Reply

