Crock Pot Cashew Chicken

 

Ummm….Yeah. I know. Who would have thought you could make Cashew Chicken in a Crock pot? Certainly not this food blogger….but I did! And it was a total hit with the fam.

My hubby tasted it and said, “You really are a good cook!” and my kids ate it, which is always a bonus!

I personally tasted it and thought, “I don’t think this would win any awards, but its definitely good. For some reason I thought it would be sweeter, but its more of a salty Asian dish.” The bonus for me was that it came together super fast yesterday before church with minimal mess, and so all I had to do when we got home from church was turn the rice cooker on, and throw cashews over the chicken!  The presentation was nice. It also tasted great as  leftovers second day!

If you’ve read my blog from its meager beginnings you will know that we love Asian food of all shapes and flavors. I have to say this is the first time I’ve done Asian in the crock pot, and I am excited about future possibilities of Asian Crock pot foods. I am now on the hunt for a crock pot Orange Chicken!

If you have a recipe for that, or any other Asian crock pot wonders,  please share the crock pot love and send it my way!

Crock Pot Cashew Chicken

printable recipe

printable recipe with picture

*Note: I doubled the recipe because I had family in town and let it cook on low for 7 hours instead of the recommended 4 hours (mainly because we were at church and I had no way to turn it off!) , I don’t think it needed to cook that long, although it still tasted great and wasn’t over dry. You can play around with the time depending on how much chicken you use!

*Makes 4-6 servings

2 lbs boneless, skinless chicken thighs, cut each thigh into about 6 pieces (don’t use chicken breasts) (I did use chicken breasts—still good:), but I’m sure thighs would taste better!)
1/4 cup all purpose flour
1/2 tsp black pepper
1 Tbsp canola oil
1/4 cup soy sauce
2 Tbsp rice wine vinegar
2 Tbsp ketchup
1 Tbsp brown sugar
1 garlic clove, minced
1/2 tsp grated fresh ginger
1/4 tsp red pepper flakes (more or less depending upon your tastes. I used less for the kiddos, but mine wasn’t spicy at all! Maybe a little more kick would have been nice!)
1/2 cup cashews

1.  Combine flour and pepper in resealable food storage bag. Add chicken. Shake to coat with flour mixture. 2.  Heat oil in skillet over medium-high heat. Brown chicken about 2 minutes on each side. Place chicken in slow cooker.
3.  Combine soy sauce, vinegar, ketchup, sugar, garlic, ginger, and pepper flakes in small bowl; pour over chicken.
4.  Cook on LOW for 3 to 4 hours. Add cashews and stir. Serve over rice.

Recipe Source: 365 days of slow cooking. Click here   for original recipe

 

This entry was published on September 3, 2012 at 8:36 pm. It’s filed under Crock Pot, Main Dish and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Crock Pot Cashew Chicken

  1. We had this for dinner tonight and loved it! Thanks for a delicious, easy-to-make dinner!

Leave a Reply

