Loaded Sweet Potatoes with Black,Red, and Pinto Beans

 

Sweet potatoes. Chili. Cheese.

Need I say more?

If food could be a rockstar, it would be this Loaded Sweet Potato with Chili.

My kids lately seem to act ravenous before I put dinner on the table and then when I dish them up food they poke around it for about 22 seconds only to say, “I’m done.” 

But when I stuck this in front of my semi-picky 3 year old, she ate a ton, my 1 year old chowed down, and my husband asked me if I was finished so that he could eat the left overs off my plate. I just smiled thinking about how easy this was to prepare and how much healthy protein my kids were giving their bodies!

And this was surprisingly incredibly filling. I had 1 large potato each for my husband and me, and 1 small one each for my kids and we had enough leftover to give my husband a huge container for lunch the next day!

Make this! It will rock your potato world! 🙂

Loaded Sweet Potatoes with Black, Red, and Pinto Beans

printable recipe

printable recipe with picture

*Note: You can use whatever beans you want in the chili that you like! I like them all so I just put some of each in! These were really filling to us! One each was enough for my family!

*Serves 4

4 large sweet potatoes (local, if possible)

For the chili beans

28 ounce can tomatoes
1 15-ounce cans kidney beans
1 15-ounce can black beans
1 15-ounce can pinto beans
2 cloves garlic
1 1/2 tablespoons chili powder
2 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon kosher salt
2 tablespoons brown sugar
1/2 tablespoon olive oil

To garnish 
3 green onions
Shredded cheese
Sour cream

Directions:

1  Preheat the oven to 450°F.

2  Wash the sweet potatoes and prick them with a fork. Place in the oven to bake for 40 minutes, until tender.

3  Prepare the toppings: Slice the green onions.  Place the cheese, cilantro, and sour cream in bowls.

4  Make the chili beans: Dice two cloves of garlic. Drain and rinse the beans. In a sauce pan, heat 1/2 tablespoon olive oil. Add the 2 cloves garlic and saute for 1 minute. Add the tomatoesbeans, 1 1/2 tablespoons chili powder, cumin, brown sugar,  and 1 teaspoon kosher salt. Simmer for about 5 to 7 minutes.

5  Cut an X in the sweet potato. Top with chili beans, shredded cheese, sour cream, green onions, and cilantro.

Recipe Source: slightly adapted from a couple of cooks here.

This entry was published on September 18, 2012 at 2:19 pm. It’s filed under Main Dish, Sides/Salads and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

