Chunky Potato Soup

Why do I love this soup?…let me count the ways…

1. The cozy flavor and creamy texture are perfect for the fall/ winter months!

2.Its so easy!

3. Easy clean-up!

4. My kids inhale it which is perfect especially because I hide all sorts of veggies in it!

4. Every one who has tasted it loves it, so it works for company!

5. It requires minimal ingredients, so I usually have everything on hand I need to make it!

6. Its cost effective, but tastes like a million bucks!\

7. Its a pretty good base, so you can adapt the flavors to your needs

The list could probably go on forever… but I think you get the point! Its delicious. Make it!:) You will love it!

P.s. I am currently having a “mom dilemma”. My kids are 3 and 1 1/2. Call me a control freak, but I took their bags of candy last night after they went trick or treating and I am thinking about letting them choose like 2 pieces a day or something like that…is that too controlling?  I just know if I let my 3 year old have her way it would be gone in an hour and she would be sick. That being said, I was definitely one of those kids who ate all of my candy in less than 24 hours and I never got sick. I had an awesome candy tolerance.

Should I let my kids build up that same tolerance? Should I stick with my “Moderation” philosophy? I am open to suggestions! Do you do anything that works for you, but seems fair and still fun! Thanks!

Chunky Potato Soup

printable recipe

printable recipe with picture

*Note: This is a great soup that is very versatile  Feel free to take liberties adding whatever veggies you like and as much or as little salt and pepper as you like. 

*One recipe makes about for cups, I usually double it for my family because my kids inhale this stuff and I like to have a little leftovers!

3T. Butter or margarine

1/2  minced onion

2 ribs celery, chopped (I’ve left this out if I don’t have it on hand and it still tastes fine)

¼ c. all –purpose flour

4c. milk (The more fat in the milk content, the more creamy it will be. I have made it with whole and skim milk. Both tastes great, but you can definitely taste the difference.)

2 c. diced potatoes (about 3 potatoes)

¾ tsp. salt

½ T. pepper (or however much you like. I usually grind fresh pepper into mine!)

3 cubes bouillon, optional! (Sometimes I use it, sometimes I just add salt to taste)

Additions: Carrots, Corn, Broccoli. You can either have these in bowls on the table (pre-cooked) so people can add what they want, or you can just add it in the soup when you add the potatoes so they can all cook together (which is what I do…except I add the corn the last 5 minutes if i’m putting that in. The soup in the picture had potatoes, broccoli, and carrots).

You can top with bacon and cheese, but my family thinks this tastes fine without them!

Directions:

Sauté celery and onions in 1 tablespoon butter. Put aside in a bowl.  Melt the other 2 tablespoons of butter  in a heavy saucepan over low heat; add flour, stirring until smooth.  Cook 1 minute stirring constantly.If this part gets a little doughy-ish looking  its okay just gradually add milk and stir together; stir in potatoes, onion, celery, salt, and pepper (and any other veggies you want to add). Cook over medium heat, stirring frequently (don’t leave it unattended or it could burn) until mixture is thickened and potatoes are done (It takes a little bit of stirring).

Recipe Source: BYU MBA Spouses cook book. Recipe submitted by Alanna Seely

 

 

 

.

This entry was published on November 1, 2012 at 3:20 pm. It’s filed under Main Dish and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

