Make Ahead Perfect Butterhorn Rolls

If you like butter, warm rolls, and low stress then then read on!:)

My mother-in-law and her sister used to sell these to their husbands co workers at Christmas time, and they sold tons! They are that kind of yummy.

I am making my very first Thanksgiving dinner this year and I’m totally pumped! Its just going to be kind of quiet Thanksgiving for us this year. We are going up to Grandpa Meldrum’s, and I think it is going to be us and him. So basically 3 adults and two kids (and I don’t even know if I need to plan on the kids eating, I’m sure they will take one bite and then find more exciting things at Grandpa’s house to play with)! I think that might possibly be the smallest Thanksgiving dinner I ever attended, but the great thing about it is that I get to be the master mind behind everything we’re eating !! ūüôā That may or may not be a food blogger’s idea of heaven.

All that being said, since I am cooking everything, I don’t really want to spend all day in the kitchen, but I still want to have a perfect Thanksgiving dinner so I am trying to plan a lot in advance, and lucky for me, the “Meldrum Family delicious melt in your mouth Butterhorn Rolls” have a make ahead option…and so…they’re made!

On Thanksgiving day all I need to do is put them on a cookie sheet, let them rise for 3 to 4 hours and then pop them in the oven and they will come out like I made them that morning! Easy as Pie:)  And Lucy, my 3 year old,  helped me make them! Definitely fun for kids to be involved in!

So…

Rolls?

Check.

Make Ahead Perfect Butterhorn Rolls

printable recipe

printable recipe with picture

*You can make these and eat them the same day, or store in the freezer for Sunday dinners and holidays!

*makes 32 rolls

1 Tablespoon Dry Yeast

1/4 Cup Warm Water

1/2 Cup Butter or Margarine

3/4 Cup Milk

1/2 Cup Sugar

3 Eggs beaten

1/2 teaspoon Salt

4 to 41/2 cups flour (scooped into measuring cup)

Extra butter, melted, to put on top of dough before you roll.

Combine yeast and warm water. Allow to stand 5 minutes until it foams then stir down. Melt butter in sauce pan then add to milk immediately. Remove from heat. To dissolved yeast add sugar, eggs and salt. Add milk and butter mixture to yeast mixture and beat. Add in enough flour to make a soft dough (I stirred in the flour and then used my hand to knead slightly the rest of the flour until it felt like bread dough).

Cover and let raise until doubled 2-4 hours. ¬†Turn dough which is still very soft onto floured board. Knead slightly. ¬†Divide dough inhalf. Roll into circle about 1/4″ thick (Kind of like you would roll out a pizza dough). Spread with melted butter (you can also sprinkle with cinnamon and sugar for a sweet option). ¬†Cut into 16 wedges with a pizza cutter (almost like slicing a pizza).

Roll from wide end to middle of each wedge. Form like a crescent roll.

For Freezing Option: Place close together on a cookie sheet covered with waxed paper and freeze immediately. ¬†(I just placed a huge piece of wax paper over them and stuck them in the freezer, I didn’t have to tape it down or anything)> ¬†Repeat for 2nd half of dough.

When thoroughly frozen(I let mine sit in the freezer over night), transfer frozen rolls to a ziplock freezer bag. Then take out as needed.  When ready to eat, set frozen rolls on greased cookie sheet. Cover and let raise 3-5 hours until double. Back at 375 for 15-20 minutes

These are equally good if you do not freeze them and just bake them. ¬†Just let them rise until they’ve doubled ( about 1 to 2 hours) and cook the same as above.

My mother in-law usually makes a double batch and freezes one.

Recipe Source: Ronda Bush Meldrum (my beautiful and talented mother-in-law).

 

 

This entry was published on November 16, 2012 at 8:32 pm. It’s filed under Breads, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Make Ahead Perfect Butterhorn Rolls

  1. This looks awesome! I love the make-ahead option.

Leave a Reply

