Easy Flaky Biscuits

flakey Biscuts

 

Its not that I have anything against store bought biscuits. They come in handy when your camping, or your in a hurry, but there is something about the little blobs of shortening that I can see in the dough that I have to ignore just knowing that my taste buds might enjoy it for a few seconds, but then  I just feel sick if I eat more than one, and lets be honest…I know myself, and I will eat more than one!

Tonight I brought back a blast from my past, and whipped out my mom’s  super easy Flaky Biscuits. I now know why she made them all the time when we were kids. They come together in a snap, they taste delicious, their healthy,  and they only have 5 ingredients (one of them is not even shortening–they use Olive Oil).

It ended up being a huge success with my husband and kiddos. I made one batch which my kids practically  inhaled before we could even finish saying the blessing on the food, and then my husband convinced me to make another double batch (which I was more than happy to do because these come together in literally 5 minutes!)

Warning:…if you make these, be prepared to double or triple the batch!

Flaky Biscuits

printable recipe

printable recipe with picture

*Note: These came together so fast! the recipe made about 12 biscuits, but that will change depending upon the size circle you use to cut it out! I used a glass cup with a about a 3 inch diameter. I think from now on I will always double the recipe…at least!

2 c. sifted flour (measure pretty exact if not a little less)

3 t. baking powder (measure exact, if not a little less)

½ t. salt

¼ c. oil

2/3 c.  milk

Directions:

Whisk together  flour, baking powder, and salt together into a mixing bowl.

Pour oil and milk into one measuring cup but do not stir.  Add all at once to flour mixture.  Stir quickly with a fork until dough clings together.

Knead the dough lightly about 10 times.

Place the dough on a piece of waxed paper 12 inches by 16 inches.  Pat dough out to about ½ inch thick.  Cut with round cookie cutter or an overturned glass.  Place biscuits on greased cookie sheet and bake at 475 (450 in New York but adjust according to your elevation) 8-12 minutes (mine were done right at 8 minutes, but if you have larger biscuits it might take longer!).

Recipe Source: The American Heart Association Cookbook with minor adjustments

 

This entry was published on January 29, 2013 at 2:24 am. It’s filed under Breads, Sides/Salads and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Easy Flaky Biscuits

  1. Stacie on said:

    Mmmm I love biscuits! This recipe looks super easy and delicious; I will have to try these!

Leave a Reply

