Caprese Lasagna with Spicy Italian Sausage

Caprease Lasagna

Perfect. Masterful. Fresh tasting.

And please do not skimp on the fresh basil. I know what your thinking, and your right, for most recipes the dried stuff works fine, but with this good hooch I really feel like the fresh basil is a must (fresh meaning, I bought the stuff they package in the veggies section of my grocery store…a little more expensive, but totally worth it).

The blog that I found this recipe on said it was a perfect summer lasagna! And they were totally right!  Most people with a garden have tomatoes growing out of their ears, and if they have an herb, most likely its basil. But I have to say this sure hit the comfort winter food bone last night for dinner!

I was honestly worried that the spice from the sausage might be too much for my not so spice loving husband, and my kiddos, but they LOVE LOVED it! Brad said, “I would buy this in a restaurant.” and my selectively picky 3 year old said, “Yummy lasagna mom!” Yes ! One point for team mom!

I don’t know if my picture does this Lasagna justice, but take my word for it! This stuff was good. Or go to the blog I found it on here!

ummm….I wish I was eating this now!

Caprese Lasagna with Spicy Italian Sausage

printable recipe

printable recipe with picture

*Note: the origional recipe to this said to use Turkey Sausage. I didn’t find a great looking spicy turkey sausage, so I just went with spicy Italian sausage and it tasted great! It wasn’t even too spicy for my kids or my husband, just flavorful with the whole combination. I’m sure the turkey would work great too! There is also great step by step pictures of this recipe here.

*Serves 8

Ingredients

3/4lb lasagna noodles
extra virgin olive oil
3/4lb hot Italian sausage (could use sweet, but the hot was fantastic!)
2 Tablespoons butter
2 garlic cloves, minced
3 Tablespoons flour
1 1/2 cups chicken broth
1 1/2 cups 2% milk
salt & pepper
6-7 roma tomatoes, thinly sliced
3/4 cup torn fresh basil
1 1/2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese ( a little more if you need!)

 

Instructions

  • Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Cook lasagna noodles in a very large pot of salted, boiling water until just under al dente. Drain and return to the pot. Add a splash of extra virgin olive oil and gently stir to coat the noodles.
  • Meanwhile, heat a large skillet over medium heat. Squeeze sausage out of its casing and cook while breaking up until no longer pink. Remove to a plate and set aside.
  • In the same skillet, melt butter, then add garlic and cook until fragrant, about 30 seconds. Sprinkle in flour, then whisk to combine and cook for 30 more seconds.
  • Slowly pour in chicken broth a few tablespoons at a time, whisking to break up any lumps. Continue pouring and whisking until mixture is smooth. Pour in milk and whisk to combine. Season with salt & pepper.
  • Switch to a spatula and stir sauce until thick and bubbly, about 10 minutes. Pour into a bowl with a spout, and set aside.
  • Spray the bottom and sides of a 9×13″ baking dish with non-stick spray. Pour 1/4 cup sauce into the bottom, then spread evenly with a spatula. Place 3 lasagna noodles in the bottom, then top with 1/3 of the tomatoes, 1/4 cup torn basil, 1/3 of the cooked turkey sausage, 1/2 cup mozzarella cheese (enough to cover the layer), and 1/3 of the remaining sauce (It won’t seem very saucy, but just drizzle the sauce over each noodle in a strip, and trust me, it will work great!). Repeat 2 more times, for a total of three layers.
  • Cover baking dish with foil and bake for 25 minutes. Remove foil and bake for 15 more minutes, or until cheese is golden brown and sauce is bubbly. Let sit 5 minutes before slicing and serving.

Recipe Source: Slightly adapted from Iowagirleats.com or go here.

This entry was published on February 7, 2013 at 9:16 pm. It’s filed under Main Dish and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

